About NC State Elected Offices

Write something about your church here.

NC State Legislative Branch / North Carolina General Assembly

The NC Legislative Branch of government is called the North Carolina General Assembly.

More information about the North Carolina General Assembly can be found at www.ncleg.net or at www.ncpedia.org/government/state/legislative

  • Creates state-wide and local laws known as the General Statutes
  • Creates rules and regulations that govern the people’s conduct
  • Meets in regular session, known as the “long session,” beginning in January of odd-numbered years and adjourns to reconvene the following even-numbered year for a shorter session, “short session”
  • Is made up of two houses, The NC State Senate and the NC State House of Representatives.
  • NC State Senate
    • Carteret County is in NC Senate District 2 which includes Carteret, Craven, and Pamlico Counties.
    • The Senate is made up of 50 members elected by popular vote to serve a 2-year term.
    • It is presided over by the Lieutenant Governor, who serves as President of the Senate
    • The senate elects officers from their membership, including a President Pro Tempore.
    • According to the state constitution, to be elected as an NC State Senator, a person:
      • Must be 25 years of age
      • Must be a registered voter in the district and eligible to vote for the office filed for
      • Resided in the State as a citizen for 2 years
      • Resided in the district for which he is chosen for 1 year immediately preceding his election
    • More information can be found at www.ballotpedia.org/North_Carolina_State_Senate
  • NC State House of Representatives
    • Carteret County is in N.C. House District 13, which includes Carteret and Jones Counties.
    • The house is made up of 120 members elected by popular vote from each of 120 Districts
    • Is presided over by the Speaker of the House who is elected by the members to a 2-year term
    • Representatives serve a 2-year term
    • According to the state constitution, to be elected as an NC State Senator, a person:
      • Must be at least 21 years of age
      • Must be a registered voter in the district and eligible to vote for the office filed for
      • Resided in district for 1 year immediately preceding election
    • More information at www.ballotpedia.org/North_Carolina_House_of_Representatives
NC State Judicial Branch

From www.nc.gov/government/nc-government

More information on the North Carolina State Judicial System is available at www.nccourts.org

The General Court of Justices was established by the NC Constitution to “Constitute a unified judicial system for purposes of jurisdiction, operation, and administration, and shall consist of an Appellate Division, a Superior Court Division, and a District Court Division.”

The Appellate Division
The NC Supreme Court

From www.ballotpedia.org/Supreme_Court_of_North_Carolina

  • Is the state’s highest court and parties have no further appeal on matters of state law.
  • Has a Chief Justice and six Associate Justices, elected to 8-year terms.
  • Judges are elected in Partisan elections in even-numbered years.
  • Hears appeals from lower courts.
  • Considers errors in legal procedures or judicial interpretations of law.
  • Caseload includes questions of constitutional law, legal questions of major significance, and appeals of convictions imposing death sentences in first-degree murder cases.
  • It has no jury.
  • About the Judges
    • are elected in partisan elections
    • must be an attorney and under the age of 72
    • must retire before the last day of the month in which they turn 72
  • Supreme Court Clerk's Office: (919) 831-5700
    • Hours of operation: Mon-Fri, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. (except holidays)
    • Physical address:
      • Supreme Court of North Carolina
      • Clerk's Office
      • 2 East Morgan Street
      • Raleigh, NC 27601
    • Mailing address:
      • Supreme Court of North Carolina
      • Clerk's Office
      • P.O. Box 2170
      • Raleigh, NC 27602-2170
The NC Court of Appeals

From www.ballotpedia.org/North_Carolina_Court_of_Appeals

  • Is an intermediate appellate court
  • Is a 15-judge court, elected by popular vote to 8-year terms
  • Has a Chief Judge chosen by the Chief Justice of the NC Supreme Court
  • Cases are heard by one of five, 3-judge panels, each panel chosen by the Chief Judge
  • Reviews the proceedings that occurred in the trial courts for errors of law or legal procedure; it decides only questions of law - not questions of fact
  • Hears all cases appealed from the Superior and District courts in civil and criminal cases, except capital murder cases in which the Superior Court pronounces a judgment imposing the death penalty
  • About the Judges
    • Must be at least 21 years old, licensed attorney, registered to vote, resident of the state, under the age of 72
    • Elected in partisan elections to serve an 8-tyear term. The governor may appoint a judge to complete the term of a retiring judge.
    • They must run for re-election to stay on the cour
  • Court of Appeals Clerk's Office: (919) 831-3600
    • Physical Address: Mailing Address:
      • Office of the Clerk of Court of Appeals
      • One West Morgan St
      • Raleigh, NC 27601 Office of the Clerk of Court of AppealsP.O. Box 2779 Raleigh, NC 27602
    • Mailing Address for Judges:
      • P.O. Box 888
      • Raleigh, NC 27602
NC Superior Court Division

From www.ballotpedia.org/Second_Division_of_the_Superior_Court,_North_Carolina

  • Includes Superior courts in 8 divisions and 50 districts across the state
  • Judges are elected to 8-year terms
  • Must live in the district in which they are elected
  • Judges rotate between the districts within their divisions every 6 months
  • Are general jurisdiction trial courts for the state
  • Holds trials to determine the facts of a case
  • Hears all felony criminal cases, civil cases involving more than $25,000, and misdemeanor, and infraction appeals from District Court
  • Jury of 12 hears criminal cases, jury is often waived in civil cases
  • Carteret County is served by the Second Division of the North Carolina Superior Court. The 12 Counties in this division include: Carteret, Pamlico, Craven, Onslow, Pender, Jones, Duplin, Sampson, Lenoir, Greene, and Wayne.
NC Executive Branch

From www.nc.gov/government/nc-government

The Executive Branch of government in North Carolina is known as the Council of state. This Council is composed of ten officers elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms.

Current members of the NC Council of State:
  • Governor
  • Lieutenant Governor
  • Secretary of State
  • State Auditor
  • State Treasurer
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Attorney General
  • Commissioner of Agriculture
  • Commissioner of Insurance
  • Secretary of Labor

For further information on North Carolina State Executive Branch, you may refer to “Executive Branch” on the website:  www.ncpedia.org/government/state/executive. There you will find a list of Cabinet offices appointed by the Governor, as well as lists of other Executive Officials and Departments and some information on State Agencies.